Go to Main NavigationGo to Secondary NavigationGo to SearchGo to Left NavigationSkip to Main ContentGo to Footer Navigation
A Mechanical Engineering faculty member and student in a lab working with machinery.
Facebook Twitter YouTube RSS

Mechanical Engineering Technology Department

Contact Information

Dr. Hazem Tawfik, Chair
Dr. Jeff Hung, Chair
Tara Zajack, Administrative Assistant

Mechanical Engineering Technology Department

Programs Offered

1 (ETAC / ABET Accredited)
2 (ATMAE Accredited)

Program Outcomes


Student Data - Enrollment         Student Data - Degrees Awarded


Faculty & Staff

Title Name Phone Number
Co-Chairman & Director IRTT Hazem Tawfik, Ph.D., P.E.C., Mfg.E. 631-420-2307
Co-Chairman & Associate Professor Jeff Hung, Ph.D. 631-420-2243
Distinguished Service Professor Serdar Elgun, P.E. 631-420-2046
Professor  Ahmed Ibrahim, Ph.D., P.E. 631-420-2309
Professor Dimitrios Maltezos, P.E. 631-420-2004
Professor Mahendra Shah 631-420-2311
Associate Professor &
Acting Chair Automotive Technology
Mohamad Zoghi, Ph.D. 631-420-2315
Associate Professor  Yeong Ryu, Ph.D. 631-420-2351
Assistant Professor &
Graduate School Coordinator
Gonca Altuger-Genc, Ph.D. 631-420-2117
Assistant Professor Hamindreza Ghadyani, Ph.D. 631-420-2062
Instructional Support Technician Daniel Weinman 631-794-6221
Administrative Assistant Tara Zajack 631-420-2046