Facebook Twitter YouTube RSS

Department of Physics

Contact Information

Lupton Hall 200
Farmingdale State College
2350 Broadhollow Road
Farmingdale, NY 11735
Phone: 631-420-2188

Dr. Lloyd Makarowitz, Chairperson

Department of Physics

The Physics Department at Farmingdale State College provides its students with an understanding of the interactions among all forms of matter, energy, and space. Toward this end, the Department offers each student a physics education carefully tailored to suit his/her needs at all levels of baccalaureate education.

Students pursuing science-related or technically-oriented degrees take either the algebra-based College Physics sequence (PHY 135 and PHY 136) or the calculus-based Physics sequence (PHY 143 and PHY 144). Students who complete these sequences may also choose from a number of electives covering such fields as electromagnetic theory and modern physics.

Students not pursuing a science-related field of study may choose from among a diverse assortment of physical science courses, including astronomy, meteorology, geology, and the environment. These specialized courses for non-science students are taught by faculty with strong interest and expertise in the respective sub-disciplines. Students have the opportunity to taste the flavor of science and to appreciate its value to humanity in a technical society.

For more information, please call or email:
Dr. Lloyd Makarowitz, Chairperson, at (631) 420-2188.

Visit faculty webpages

***Explore the Exciting Physics Minor***

Email faculty and staff:

Lloyd Makarowitz, Chairperson and Professor, Lupton 200A, 2188

George N. Caviris, Professor, Lupton 200B, 2081

Yuen S. Chinn, Professor, Lupton 200M, 2135

Edmund M. Douglass, Assistant Professor, Lupton 200N, 2483

Bryan J. Field, Assistant Professor, Lupton 200K, 2140

Jeffrey S. Oishi, Assistant Professor, Lupton 200L, 2408

Morton P. Seitelman, Professor, Lupton 200I, 2222

Jack W. Simonson, Assistant Professor, Lupton 200C, 2155

Solomon O. Ayo, Instructional Support Specialist, Lupton 200F, 2061

Michael Raffanello, Instructional Support Associate, Lupton 200H, 2303

Linda M. Rennie, Department Secretary, Lupton 200, 2188,  (Mondays through Fridays, 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.)

Important links:

Please E-mail suggestions and comments concerning Physics Department Web Pages to  Dr. Lloyd Makarowitz, who is responsible for these pages. Thank you.